The next step in initial due diligence is to check the “whois” record. Which will show (if the owner has not opted for privacy) the Registrant for the domain name and other key data such as the “creation date”. A recommendation to legitimate sellers is to remove your registration privacy when you want to sell your business.In the case of profilebiz.com the Registered owner is:
Dennis Surgatov
4-25 Gagarlin street
Moscow, MR 142210
Russian Federation
disliz2002@gmail.com
79163726620
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: PROFILEBIZ.COM
Created on: 27-Aug-04
Expires on: 27-Aug-12
Last Updated on: 31-Mar-09
My next step is to check whether the stated owner has had any previous “bad acts”; or claims against them for Internet Scam or Internet Fraud. This is three simple search engine queries using the Registrant’s name and adding scam, ripoff, and fraud. In the case of this registrant I got the following search result in Google.
Rip-off Report: Dennis Semenov / Dennis Surgatov / Global Variant …
- Apr 23Apr 17, 2009 … Dennis Semenov / Dennis Surgatov / Global Variant Deceptive sale of website with no value Nationwide.
www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/444/RipOff0444386.htm – 45k -
This becomes Warning Sign #1 that there may be a sign of problems with this Seller. This is NOT a definitive statement merely a sign to investigate farther. The reason for this is in the competitive business of Internet Business Opportunity competitors may plant false information to discredit a competitor.
Next I used a special domain name tool to research domain ownership back to 1995. I was looking for any other domain names that had ever been registered using the name Dennis Surgatov or Dennis Semenov. I found several, but concentrated on two … treysweb.com and getsetexchange.com. A simple matter of checking whois information on these two domains provided email addresses for the current owners. More on this later.
Next, I begin researching the claims of the Seller (see above). In every Internet scam or Internet fraud there always seems to be some claim of the Seller that trips them up. In this case, in claim 8 above the Seller states “Website started selling the guide in August 2006.” This one is simple to check. A site, archive.org, has been indexing home pages of websites since day one of the “Net.
In February 2008 the site profilebiz.com looked liked this: http://web.archive.org/web/20080214181243/http://www.profilebiz.com/
The seller made a material misrepresentation. The site could not have been selling an e-book on Canadian Immigration in August 2006; as the site was selling Business Management Services in February of 2008.
The complete record of website changes of profilebiz.com can be viewed here: http://web.archive.org/web/*/profilebiz.com
In claim 5 above the seller states that he is adding 50 to 100 new “backlinks” per month. Backlinks is a clearly defined term. Meaning active links that lead the Internet user from one website to another website. In the info page the seller claims an existing 8,000 backlinks indexed in Google. For a first time Internet Business Opportunity buyer this 8,000 seems impressive. However, the seller is misrepresenting the backlink count. Either he does not know the definition of backlink, or more likely he is preying on the unsuspecting first time buyer. His actual Google backlinks are not 8,000, but “4″ at the time of writing this post. Backlinks are essential to the Page Rank system of Google; and ultimately on how well the website places in search engine results within Google.
I check a dozen other information points when conducting an initial due diligence, but only do those when the first steps show positive results. I did email the seller Dennis at disliz2002@gmail.com requesting that he set up 3rd party analytics, such as Google Analytics, and add me as a User to verify the traffic claims. Further, I proposed a “GoToMeeting.com” session to access Dennis’ Clickbank account in real time. I did not receive a response.
In the case of profilebiz.com my job was nearly complete. I waited a few days for email responses from the two other domain name owners where the prior owner was the Seller Dennis.
One registrant responded, “Please do not have your client purchase from him, I have no proof, but my sales were WAY less than he stated and I did his suggested “advertising”.”
The other responded, “Im sorry i don’t have ant good news for you. I paid a lot of money for this site and gotten nothing back. Just a few sales. Nothing like he promised. I have done everything for ppc, banner ads, software submitting sites and more. Basically everything he told me I did. The only thing i didn’t do was seo. The only reason was i ran out of money for that. Now he is trying to sell the site and get my money back. I don’t know how he will sell the site for what i paid for it when it making no money. I can give you five more people that are in the same situation. All paid good money for a site that make nothing. Let me know if you want to talk to them too.”
This final information, along with the other research above, was sufficient to advise my client to not buy profilebiz.com; and to further explain to her that she had avoided buying an Internet Business scam from an Internet Fraud.
This Internet Business Fraud is still listed at auction on Deal A Site.
Other domain names owned, or previously owned, by Dennis Surgatov,(aka Dennis Semenov) include:
globalvariant.com
rusartshop.com
sittingdogtraining.com
buymydev.com
eBay profile of a Dennis having the User name disliz2002 which is the Email name of the email address for Dennis, disliz2002@gmail.com
I did a a bit more research for this article and I would estimate that Dennis Surgatov,(aka Dennis Semenov) has defrauded or scammed Internet Business Opportunity buyers of at $100,000. Keep in mind my research did not include any other alias of this individual.
Update: November 4, 2009 – It appears to Dennis Surgatov/Semenov has resurfaced as Tatyana Veretennikova selling the identical website, but at a different domain name. http://www.toneca.com You can view the bogus listing at Established North America Immigration Website |
I was one of the many people ripped off by Dennis Surgatov / Semenov. Now that I’ve done my research (too late), I can confirm that all of the above is true, and I know 4 others who have been ripped off too. Thanks for posting this information about him, hopefully others won’t get ripped off now.
…I purchased this site from Dennis. He transfered the site to me and I gave him $10,000 up front. I said I would like to see how the site performed for a week and would give him the other $10,000. As soon as the $10,000 hit his bank account all sales I got in the “trial period” were magically refunded.
Lots of people have been scammed by this guy, see
I promised I would discontinue negative promotion of Dennis if refunded my money. He did refund my original $10,000.
Update July 2009: Dennis Semenov (now aka Alexander Mitowski) may be at it again.
I have not thoroughly investigated this, but the MO(pattern) is the same. datapan.com listed for $20,000, gross sales of $50,000, cash flow of $40,000. A site using clickbank for sales of a downloaded data recovery software.
Update:
Above in the comments you will see two posts from Alan. The first post by “Alan” states he was ripped off by the seller Dennis Seminov.
One comment later the “Alan” posts that he got a refund. The email address of each “Alan” is different, as well as the IP address posting the comment.
Draw your own conclusions.
Update: November 4, 2009 – It appears that Dennis Surgatov/Semenov has resurfaced as Tatyana Veretennikova selling the identical website, but at a different domain name. http://www.toneca.com You can view the bogus listing at Established North America Immigration Website
I can confirm that I have been in contact with at least 6 people who have all bought websites from Dennis Semenov (or Surgutov), and they have ALL made ZERO sales. After threatening legal action, Denis usually offers to refund around 25% or less of the purchase price. Unfortunately, yes he is doing this under several different names. Some of them are:
Denis Semenov
Denis Surgutov
disliz2002 (Ebay ID)
Dennis Safranov
Denis Smirnov
Global Variant (Business Name)
and others.
I am not posting my name here because Denis becomes quite aggressive when he finds you talking against him. Personally I lost around $20,000 to him.
I have been evaluating internet companies to buy and was interested in one that was being sold for a very attractive price (to good to be true). Imagine my surprise when I read the seller claims at the top of this site which read word for word the claims I got in an email from the seller. The web site is a paid surveys website and the seller name is Alex Mitowski. I would add this name to the growing list of surnames for Denis Semenov. I’m really glad I found this site.